Mayo minors win All Ireland title

The Mayo Minor football team are All Ireland champions 2013 after defeating Tyrone by 2-13 to 1-13 in an exciting final in Croke Park.

Mayo, who last won the All Ireland Minor title in 1985, got off to a shaky start, but by halftime had nudged ahead by one point (1-4-0-6) after a terrific Tommy Conroy goal in the 29th minute.

Mayo took control after the re-start with the forwards finally hitting form and scoring 3 points without reply in the as many minutes.

When Dara Doherty got a second Mayo goal after 38 minutes it looked like Mayo were coasting to victory.

But Tyrone fought back bravely and it took some outstanding defensive play – most notably from Man of the Match, cornerback, David Kenny, who he was on the line to he prevent a certain Tyrone goal when the keeper had been beaten.

Mayo got some wonderful late points to ensure victory and make certain that the last minute Tyrone goal was nothing more than a consolation prize for the Northerners.

The All Ireland winning Mayo Minor team:

Mark Mulligan Claremorris, Eddie Doran – Achill, Seamus Cunniffe – Ballaghaderreen, David Kenny – Aghamore, Michael Hall – Breaffy, Stephen Coen – Hollymount/Carramore, Sean Conlon – Castlebar Mitchels, Val Roughneen – Balla, Diarmuid O’Connor – Ballintubber, Conor Loftus – Crossmolina, Michael Plunkett – Ballintubber, Padraig Prendergast – Louisburgh, Darragh Doherty – Kilmaine, Liam Irwin – Breaffy, Tommy Conroy – Kiltane, Matthew Flanagan – Balla Hugh Cafferty – Crossmolina, Kevin Jordan – Mayo Gaels, Ronan Finn – Claremorris, Brian Walsh – Ballintubber, Matthew Ruane – Breaffy, Fionán Duffy – Crossmolina, James Langan – Knockmore, Conor Byrne – Moy Davitts

Team Management: Manager: Enda Gilvarry, James Mitchell – Coach, Eoin Sweeney – Selector, Kevin Walsh – Selector, Martin Costello – Selector, David Lowther – Physio, James Harrison – Doctor.

By Anthony Hickey

Follow writer and photographer, Anthony Hickey, as he travels around his native Co. Mayo, Ireland.